Where Excitement Will Be Found

Like a Ferris Wheel, the fair too, comes around slowly.

Growing up, the fair was always something I looked forward too each fall, and as I have gotten older, that feeling hasn’t changed. Whether you like the fair for its deep fried… well, deep fried anything, or the poorly constructed rides that make you nauseous the moment you step foot onto solid ground, the smell of livestock mixed with buttered popcorn never seems to leave your senses, no matter how old you get.

I recently took a trip to the Pike County Fair in Troy, Alabama, and am not ashamed to say that I was kicked off of the carousel for being “too tall.” Now, as a 5’3, 20 year old female, I don’t know whether or not to take that as a compliment or an insult, but if I’m being optimistic, I’ll say it was a compliment.

Enough of my rambling, I’m going to give you some information regarding the Pike County Fair itself. It opened this past Tuesday, October 4, 2016, at the Pike County Fairgrounds, and will continue nightly through Saturday, October 9. I spoke with James Henderson, a member of the Troy Shrine Club, who sponsors the fair each year, who said that gates open at 6 p.m. and remain open until the last person leaves.

Aside from the rides, the Pike County Fair offers exhibits of handmade and homemade items, and a newly renovated cattle barn featuring pigs, cows, horses, and chickens.

For more information regarding the Pike County Fair, you can visit their Facebook page.

Make sure to leave a comment below telling me what you thought about the Pike County Fair this year, and how you think they can improve.

Map of Troy Shrine Club Inc
Troy Shrine Club/Pike County Fairgrounds
Address: 3700 US-231, Troy, AL 36081
Phone: (334) 566-3273

Leave a comment